Curly horse page

CURLY BREEDING

We started to breed Curly horses in 2018 by buying our first American Bashkir Curly Horse, RCHR Lady Midnight Zara. Our first foal, PC El Primo, was born on 9 May 2019.

The breeding programme was expanded in 2019 with Curly mare Vanda and her mare foal Jaliska and the first Curly pony in Belgium: Dakota Dream. We did this in order to offer children the opportunity to work with ponies and horses.

MORE ABOUT BREEDING

ORIGINS OF THE CURLY

The American Bashkir Curly horses come, as the name implies, mainly from North America. Wild mustangs were found around 1800 that had a curly coat. The curls occurred because of a genetic abnormality/mutation. In North America, they continued to breed with these horses in the 1930s.

Most Curly horses are found in the United States and Canada. On a global level, only 4,000 horses and ponies have been included in the American Bashkir Curly breed registry (i.e., studbook). A few hundred of these can be found in Europe of which only ten or so in Belgium.

In addition to the Curlies’ nature and performance in all disciplines, they are mainly special because of their hypoallergenic properties.

WHY ARE CURLIES HYPOALLERGENIC?

Allergic reactions to animals and horses in particular are caused by proteins in the dander, saliva and urine. There are about twenty proteins that may cause an allergic reaction in people. Every person reacts differently to allergens and the concentration of allergens can also be different per Curly horse.

So whether you came and ride or work with a Curly without sneezing will only be determined by trial and error, but everyone will find their horse to ride free from complaints.

Use these links to access more scientific information about the hypoallergenic qualities of Curly horses.

If you would like to receive more information, EMAIL US  or call 0468 12 48 87 without obligation.

Curly horse

ÉLEVAGE DU CURLY

En 2018, nous avons commencé l’élevage du Curly par l’achat de notre premier American Bashkir Curly, qui s’appelle RCHR Lady Midnight Zara. Puis, notre premier poulain PC El Primo est né le 9 mai 2019.

En 2019, l’élevage s’est élargi avec une jument Curly nommée Vanda, sa pouliche Jaliska et la première poney Curly de Belgique, baptisée Dakota Dream. Nous offrons donc également aux enfants la possibilité de travailler avec des poneys et des chevaux.

EN SAVOIR PLUS SUR L’ÉLEVAGE

ORIGINE DU CURLY

Les chevaux American Bashkir Curly sont, comme leur nom l’indique, originaires des États-Unis. Vers 1800, on a découvert des mustangs sauvages dotés d’un pelage bouclé, et leurs boucles étaient le résultat d’une anomalie ou d’une mutation génétique. Vers 1930, ils ont commencé à se reproduire aux États-Unis.

La plupart des Curlies se trouvent aux États-Unis et au Canada. Seuls 4000 chevaux et poneys de par le monde sont inscrits dans le stud-book de l’American Bashkir Curly. Plusieurs centaines d’entre eux sont en Europe, dont seulement dix en Belgique.

Outre leur docilité et leur aptitude à la pratique de toutes les disciplines équestres, les Curlies sont particulièrement spéciaux en raison de leur pelage aux propriétés hypoallergéniques.

POURQUOI LE PELAGE DU CURLY EST-IL HYPOALLERGÉNIQUE ?

Les réactions allergiques au contact des animaux et des chevaux sont causées par des protéines présentes dans les squames, la salive et l’urine. Il existe une vingtaine de protéines pouvant provoquer des réactions allergiques chez l’homme. Chaque personne réagit différemment aux allergènes et la concentration d’allergènes peut également varier selon le Curly.

Il vous faudra donc essayer un Curly, pour savoir si vous arrivez à le monter ou à travailler avec ce Curly sans éternuer. Soyez sans crainte, chacun se trouve le cheval lui permettant de monter sans allergie.

Cliquez sur ces liens pour accéder à de plus amples informations scientifiques sur les qualités hypoallergéniques des chevaux Curly.

Vous souhaitez plus d’informations ? ENVOYEZ-NOUS UN EMAIL  ou appelez-nous sans engagement au 0468 12 48 87.